20
Jan
09

Watching the Obama Inauguration

It’s here! It’s today! I went to bed last night relishing the “last night of Bush.” We will not have to deal with any further atrocities from that man’s administration. Their reign is over.

Watching all the failed former presidential candidates (especially Gore), I wonder if they are all thinking, “This should’ve been mine.”

Damn, 41 is looking old!

If I had to sit outside during the inauguration in the cold, and remember I’m from Texas, I would get those thermal pads that heat up. And hand warmers.

Yesterday, a number of conservative Texans were grumbling to my husband about the size of the celebration for Obama. And perhaps the shindig is so large because he is the first African-American president. Would it have been so large had Jesse Jackson been elected president? Would it have been so large had Hillary been elected? It is it so large because it heralds the end of Bush? A combo of Obama/first African-American president/end of Bush? Yes, I think so. There could be no better time to celebrate.

Yay – no more Cheneys!

Wow, this thing’s really going to happen.

How are they going to get Cheney in the wheelchair down the stairs? He’ll have to be wheeled around the side? Fitting for such and out-of-touch man. haha, they did.

Some boos for McConnell, Boehner and Bush. They’re singing, “Hey, hey, hey, goodbye!” OMG! I guess I would, too. They deserve it. Though, it is bad form.

Boos for Cheney.

President Bush shaking hands and he doesn’t have that weird, uncomfortable, “I don’t want to be here” look – watch his last interview with Larry King if you want to see it.

All sorts of philosophical feelings of gladness are echoing in my head.

Obama looks cool, calm, ready.

Rep. John Lewis gives Obama a big hug. What he must be feeling…

Ugh, Diane Feinstein. I will not remember her compromise with Bush for the sake of her defense contractor husband. Californians – you should not, either. She played for play. Shameful.

Great, here comes Rick Warren. Not much clapping. Douchebag. I’m not praying with him. How is God loving to everyone he has made when he condemns kind people to Hell and murderers he invites into Heaven? Answer: Christianity is a myth. And it is waning. It’s a shame it’s given such a spotlight when our country needs reason and common sense and adult decision-making. “When we fail to give all the human beings on the earth the respect they deserve…” Could he be referring to his own treatment of gay people? Obama, this was mistake. I hope it stings. And I hope you remember it.

I wonder how many people across the world are watching this. I hope they understand that America and Americans are more compassionate and more humble than they assume. Politicians and celebrities are not reflections of us.

Biden’s oath of office. That is a big ole Bible. Wooohoooo!!!!!! I’m glad he was chosen. The Southern Louisiana in me likes that he can tell it like it is and politi-speak comes hard to him.

Robert Gibbs is sitting behind the quartet of Itzak Perlman, Yo-yo Ma, Anthony McGill and Gabriela Montero. Is that odd or is it just me?

Here come THE oath. Be proud of Hussein.

We have a new president!!!!

I won’t lie, I’m tearing up a little. A black president. It’s marvelous.

President Barak Obama.

His speech – as he lists all the problems facing the nation, I wonder if Bush feels each one is spotlight on his failure.

We chose hope over fear. Damn right! Remember that, followers of Karl Rove.

Begin the work of remaking America. I am down. Big time.

Eeeeewww, they just showed Ray Nagin the crowd. He’s a lump of worthlessness.

We reject as false the choice between our safety and our ideals. Couldn’t have said it better. Couldn’t agree with it more.

The force of our example. The tempering qualities of humility and strength. What a wonderful thing to have a president who speaks words and messages I can support. It’s been far too long.

Yes, he mentioned non-believers. Think those words would have come from McCain? Hell no.

We will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist. Damn, he’s a good writer.

Speech is over. Bush is giving his golf clap.

I can’t wait for the De-nauguration Party tonight!!

All right, good job, America!

I checked all the international news sites and Obama’s inauguration is on the forefront of them all, except Moscow Times. Ha’aretz points out Obama’s message to Muslims and shows a picture of Clinton and Gore together. Interesting.

“Former President George W. Bush” Ahh, sounds so sweet. There he goes. Be gone. I should say Here he comes seeing as how I live an hours’ drive from his new home. The crowd is sing, “Hey,hey,hey, good bye” again. Right on.

How many times can I say I’m so glad It’s Obama? For a year now, he’s been my first choice – it was a year ago Bill Richardson dropped out. But, I’m so glad it’s Obama. Not McCain, not Giuliani, not Hillary. Obama.

haha. The crowd his chanting, “Yes, we did! Yes, we did!” Yes, we did.

Obama’s signing the cabinet nominations. I forgot he’s a lefty.

They just showed Chelsea Clinton speaking with John and Cindy McCain. That shouldn’t seem too odd to me, but it does.

Watching Bush at Andrews Air Force Base. These images make me so happy.

Okay, it’s done. We’re a go. I’d uncork some champagne if I didn’t have to drive today. A certain sobriety is appropriate at this moment, I think – at least until tonight when I’ll let loose with revelry. It’s important to remember what the people can do when the need for action is paramount.

Good judgment has returned to the American people.

The era of religious ideology dictating ruinous policy is over. Evangelicals, you can terrorize the rest of us no longer. Your leaders have brought this country to its needs. The rest of us will not allow you to destroy what we hold dear. Remember what we can do when you seek to dominate and control with your intolerant, unjust will.

The long, dark night is over.

Obama is president. The people have spoken. We must continue to do so and implore our president to listen.

I can breathe again.

I will not forget this day.

1 Response to “Watching the Obama Inauguration”


  1. 1 Povidence Candlelight
    January 23, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Well, Jill missed her opportunity to push the bastard down the stairs.

    There would have been thunderous applause and she would have elevated herself to greatest of the American Heroines, Sainthood and Legend.

    Yes, I have never been more proud to be an American.

    VTY,
    PC


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,129 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

