04
Nov
08

Yay! I Voted!

I planned to go a little later today, but with someone’s (ahem, my husband’s) circadian rhythm jacked up because of daylight savings time, I was outside the doors of my local elementary school before the polls opened with a local reporter asking me how early I got up this morning. At least I got to go to the donut shop and get a couple pigs-in-a-blanket beforehand.

Normally, I try and fill out my ballot as fast as I can – I’m not an especially competitive person, but my husband and I manage to turn everything into a race and, of course, I like to beat him at all things mundane. This ballot was different. I paused momentarily before filling in the box for Barack Obama/Joe Biden and felt superb blackening that teeny little rectangle as well as I could.

I have that tingle of ever-present excitement like I used to as a kid on Christmas Eve – today we give ourselves the gift of a replacement of George W. Bush. And today I didn’t simply vote for the lesser of two evils. When’s the last time any of us ever did that?! We finally get to vote for a candidate that we think has the capacity to make the right decision the vast majority of the time. We don’t just hope he doesn’t screw it up – we hope he flies and takes us with him.

Tomorrow, sobriety will return with the memory that Barack is first and foremost a politician and he’s heading into The Perfect Storm for any president-elect.

But today, just today, I’ll let myself feel and enjoy an unbridled, almost intangible anticipation for the future. I’m finally going to have four years where’s it President My Guy.

We’re going to win. We’re going to heal and we’re going to progress. And I can’t wait!

8 Responses to “Yay! I Voted!”


  1. 1 Wasaff
    November 4, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    The world will be a better place, if for anything else our perception to the rest of the worlf will hopefully change. Tired of telling people I am Canadian đŸ™‚

  2. 2 Providence
    November 4, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Yes, finally – our guy!

  3. 3 Rob
    November 5, 2008 at 9:13 am

    To all Obama supporters, way to go, your guy won.

    All of you have a responsibility to hold his feet to the fire. See if actual “change” takes place.
    Remember FISA

  4. 4 Maria
    November 5, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Let’s not forget the last 8 years. Obama has a huge undertaking ahead of him. George Bush has left a huge mess to be cleaned up! You’re kidding yourself if you think it can be taken care of in one term.

  5. 5 Wasaff
    November 5, 2008 at 11:02 am

    No doubt Rob… but better to hold the fire to his feet than McCain… that dudes issues were just way wrong. I remember FISA, but I also remember he is a politician who had to do certain things and give certain impressions in order to get elected. I sense good in this guy, no matter the brzynski or CFR connections, he could try some shit but we americans are watching these mofos now more than ever. He would have to really pull some wool (not sexually)to fool all of us Truthers out there.

  6. 6 Rob
    November 5, 2008 at 11:04 am

    With a democratic congress and democratic senate, and with a backing of a majority of the citizenry, with all honesty, all it takes is one term.

    Can you say “softball”? Lob it up there, hit it out of the park, and lets get on with making those promises happen there, Barack. No excuses, you’ve got the dream situation. Make it happen.

  7. 7 Wasaff
    November 5, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Precisely, he does have the situation going for him. And we as Americans do have to make him keep his word… otherwise I suggest revolting agaisnt the system in massive droves, show the government who is really running this mofo.

  8. November 5, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    anybody would be better than bush and cheney, but obama is definitely better than mccain. and we will be paying attention and we will be raising our voice. he will not want to disappoint and he understand the responsibility he’s been handed. obama will not simply disregard that and he certainly doesn’t have the presidential daddy baggage bush entered office with. he isn’t embittered with oceans of enemies the way clinton was when he took office. if nothing else, the obama presidency will be interesting. and i’m so glad the US finally gave the world a reason to be proud of us. we have a responsibility to them as well. i’m simply so glad bush is leaving, i’m nearly speechless.


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,315 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

