06
Oct
08

VP Debate and Douchebag Sean Hannity

Phew! I’m back home from Florida without any serious road-rage incidents. I thought I’d be able to blog regularly while on vacation, but I was wrong – the lure of the beach and shopping proved to be irresistible.

I did, however, manage to catch the Vice Presidential debates. Though I remember little of through the fog of wine, I took notes that grew less and less legible, as you can imagine. Apparently, the fact that Palin says NUKE-U-LAR made my inebriated self irritated because I wrote it in all caps. I know we lefties are elitist and the righties are anti-intellectuals, but you’d think they’d be embarrassed that the leaders they present for the electorate cannot even pronounce nuclear correctly. Perhaps they figured years of Bush numbed us to this mispronunciation as much as living in Texas reminds you “irregardless” is still alive and well. You’d be wrong. It’s like Obama said, “It’s like these guys take pride in being ignorant.” I can tell you one thing – if Obama said “Nukular”, I wouldn’t vote for him. Not even if he were the second coming of George Carlin himself.

Overall, I thought Palin did well in the debate. Sure she outright lied a number of times and spoke to the camera like America was her fifth grade class. She said the word “there” 73 times to Biden’s 35 – but, when you don’t really have the skills to talk about the issues effectively, you need filler. And filler she gave us: “joe sixpack,” “dog-gone it,” “bless their hearts,” “darn right,” “say it ain’t so, Joe,” “her reward is in heaven,” and more. Her lack of understanding of basic sentence structure would make her the same kind of fun VP Dan Quayle was. You should read the transcript – it’s a hoot.  Overall, her biggest accomplishment of the debate was making me glad as hell I won’t be voting for her ticket.

My week of fun ended, however, upon my return home and subsequent relaxation, I stumble upon the Fox News special hour of royal douchebag Sean Hannity’s Hannity’s Obama & Friends; A History of Radicalism. You’d think Hannity was on the payroll of the McCain campaign. All the images of Obama were either in grainy black and white or slow-mo, with the mere visual presenting Obama in as negative a light as possible. Hannity tied Obama to Hamas and pathetically tried to convince viewers that Obama is some stealth Muslim terrorist. Fair and balanced my ass.

Hannity has the credibility of a dung beetle on any occasion, but the program presented last night was probably a last-ditch effort to scare American voters over to McCain’s side. Obviously, this grotesque excuse for journalism will prove ineffective. Dipshits like Hannity forget that Americans have more access to information and FACTS than ever before and fear-mongers who are incapable of productive information analysis are no longer convincing. Hannity’s core viewer demographic is dying off, much to the relief of those of us who have a modicum of appreciation for truth.

So, I’m back on the blogging bandwagon, well rested and well tanned. And just in time to witness the McCain campaign throwing their kitchen sink, otherwise known as William Ayers. Poor, poor McCain people. It really has to suck when the majority of American people are on to your bullshit, and lying and distracting doesn’t work anymore. I hope all your shit really stinks over there in Loserville!

5 Responses to “VP Debate and Douchebag Sean Hannity”


  1. October 6, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    But to assume that one party is more religiously correct than another and will run the country better than another is rather right too

    http://mccainvrsobama.wordpress.com/2008/10/06/mccain-versus-obama-hot-free-speech/

  2. 2 Rob
    October 6, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I think the Palin/McCain ticket is basically a reverse of the Bush/Cheney ticket. Dumb at the bottom and evil at the top.

    Yay for d-bags in politics!

  3. 3 Maria
    October 6, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    It’s about time you got back! I was starting to have withdrawals and wanting to see what you would say about the VP debate. While watching the debate, I was about to pull my hair out. I got so tired of hearing “again”, “maverick”, “energy”, “nuke-u-lar”, “joe six-pack”, etc. (you know what I’m trying to say). I can’t stand her accent and honestly, she looked like a deer caught in the headlights whenever she lifted her head from reading her notes. And let’s not even talk about her not answering the questions….

    On the Joe Six-pack issue. I understand she’s trying to pander to the redneck hillbillies or your average Joe, but really, don’t you want someone smarter than you running the country? How would you like it if you found out your surgeon, who was about to do brain surgery on you, was really just a surgery tech? But this surgery tech had experience watching surgeries and handing instruments to the surgeon. I think I’d be more than a little worried.

    If McCain/Palin win this election, everyone in America should be scared. You get 4 more years of Bush policies and a whack job trying to bring on the end times because she takes the bible literally.

  4. October 6, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    maria – the wine kept my frustrations manageable, but it was painful to watch her. i completely agree with the argument that someone with little experience somehow brings an advantage to the table. as brendan says, ridonkulous.

    but mccain and palin aren’t going to win. which is good, because i’m not quite ready to move to fiji.

  5. November 18, 2009 at 2:18 am

    HA – Couldn’t agree more on the Hannity sentiment. You earned a fan.


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,315 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

