04
Sep
08

MEREDITH VETO: “RED MEAT”

While I have never issued a sympathetic MEREDITH VETO, when my husband was being driven nuts by the media’s continual reference to “red meat,” meaning “substantive attack,” I decided I could make an exception.

First of all, it’s just nasty. The visual image of raw, bloody flesh being hurled by speakers is obviously grotesque on any level.

Secondly, and most importantly, I’ll openly admit I have a dirty mind, while most people keep it to themselves. As a result, each mention of “red meat” immediately goes through a translator in my brain and comes out “penis” or “wiener.”

So, when ever a commentator on any of the networks (they all use the term) says, “She was really giving the red meat to the crowd!” or “He had no red meat in his speech,” I immediately hear, “She was really giving the wiener to the crowd!” or “He had no penis in his speech!”

You know you think it too.

I know they want to use colorful language, but I vote for sticking with “substance.”

Okay. I just looked up synonyms for “substance” and “meat” was listed. I might be out-voted on this one.

But it’s still distracting. So it gets a PENIS! I mean a VETO!

2 Responses to “MEREDITH VETO: “RED MEAT””


  1. 1 Rob
    September 5, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I actually just flinched and did a “huh” moment at the “my husband” comment!

    Red meat, how did that ever become a popularly tossed around analogy? How about “Budig thin sliced honey-ham” or “BEEF!”….

    McCain just lost 2 million republican vegetarians… 😦

  2. 2 Pablo
    September 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I am not a native English speaker (I am Costa Rican) and I read an article in the paper stating: McCain tossed read meat….
    I have been on-line looking for a meaning of the expression and now I think I understand better the expression.
    Thank you
    P.S.: I stil don´t get the “tossed” part of the expression.


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,128 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

