27
Aug
08

Reaction to Night 2 of the Dem Convention

Boring, Vanilla Sebelius

Boring, Vanilla Sebelius

Is it me or are most of the Democratic speakers wet noodles? Sebelius was fairly monotone and unexciting. No wonder she wasn’t seriously considered as Obama’s running mate. Mark Warner was utterly forgettable. The governor from Montana was fun, but a bit too much a booby goober. Dennis Kucinich brings out my shallow side and inability to take him seriously. It’s not his fault. It’s mine. I have some character-building to do, obviously, but every time Kucinich yelled, “Up with…..!!”, I just thought, Dennis, The Brady Bunch called and they want their slogan back.

The shallowness in my home continued when I chuckled at my husband’s observation that Ariz. Governor Janet Napolitano reminded him of Executive Transvestite Eddie Izzard. Before Clinton’s speech, MSNBC kept the cameras on Bill who watched the Montana governor’s speech with his mouth open, pretending to be “rapt” for the cameras. I was just waiting for a bug or piece of confetti to float into his mouth, but I think they’re saving the confetti for the last night.

Hillary herself was fantastic. She revved up the crowd, made a convincing case for Obama, landed a couple jabs on McCain. She did what she came to do. Glad to see she went with the orange suit. I spotted some men in headphones holding up identical-in-all-but-color pantsuits up on the main stage checking their on-stage quality. I was delighted when TMZ posted a pic of the image! The green and blue really look drab and Hillary would have been way too matchy-matchy with the other female speakers if she went with the red.

The video montage of her biography and campaign footage was really well done, despite the unassertive, wimpy-styled narration of Chelsea, and her speech was all it could have been. Hillary is capable of giving a good, clever speech and rising to the occasion. Good for her! But her job isn’t finished and I hope she continues the rest of the election without any sore-loserness.

My favorite moment of the night was during the MSNBC commentary afterward and in the crowd was some guy holding a McCain/Ditka sign. Da Berhs! That sign rocked. As did Spike Lee’s t-shirt with Obama dunking on McCain.

I’m excited about tonight though – Bill Richardson, John Kerry, James Clyburn, even Chicago Mayer Richard Daley. Joe Biden will do extremely well, especially if he doesn’t run out on stage with his man-boobs jiggling.

Of course, the moment we’ll all be waiting for is Bill. I’m not sure if he’s figured out that Obama is the main character for this convention, but his speech is all anyone will be talking about tomorrow before Obama’s address. The tone of his speech will be determined by one thing: whom does he dislike more – Obama or Republicans?

He’ll pat himself on the back during his speech, but if he gives Obama a good shout out, it’ll be to stick the Repubs in the eye, not because he really supports him. He’ll also want to protect his legacy. If he fails to deliver for Obama, his bitterness toward the primary victor now outweighs his hatred of the Republican Death Squad that plagued him in the nineties and would have plagued his wife had she been elected. It’ll be interesting to watch, whichever way he goes and I highly doubt the speech will have any resounding effect on Obama’s electoral success or lack thereof. If I were the Obama camp, though, I’d have one of those long canes to jerk Bill off stage if the need arises. Like if he starts making Jesse Jackson comparisons again and shouting that he’s not a racist. Reminds me of Nixon yelling “I am not a crook!”

5 Responses to “Reaction to Night 2 of the Dem Convention”


  1. 1 Marc
    August 27, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    M,
    Love you but you do always notice the least important attributes in a person. sighhhhhhh. man boobs? good lord.

  2. August 27, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    haha! marc, i notice ALL attributes in people, but love to comment on the least important. i strive very hard not to take myself or anything else too seriously. it’s all that South Louisiana running through my veins.

  3. 3 Marc
    August 27, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Guess it’s that west virginia coal mining/ midwestern cornfarming serious streak in me.

  4. August 27, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    good stock, marc. good stock.

  5. 5 Paige
    August 27, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Didn’t notice any man-boobs on Biden tonight. Bill did a great job. I’m glad he got his head out of his hiney on this one. He can be sooo charismatic. I guess that’s why he gets the nooky. Even from Hillary, especially after praising her just so tonight.

    Marc, get out of the tunnel (coal), I’m alot older than you or Meredith, and ya just gotta laugh at various inappropriate times or you start taking the world and yourself too seriously. Seriously, I embarrass myself sometimes, and others around me too. Just say it and smile, come on you know you want to! “MAN-BOOBS!!!”

    Oh yeah, I liked Biden’s speech too. Go get ’em dawg! I can’t imagine either Romney or Lieberman (gag) holding up after Biden speaks truth. I also just hope that Obama/Biden can live up to the dream. Is our democratic congress strong enough?


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,130 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

