01
Jul
08

Holy Shit – and I’m back

I just returned from a week-long jaunt to Vegas, newly married and found this on my television screen:

flds dressThis is the “Teen Princess Dress” from the FLDS Dress website. That’s right. They’re selling their freaky 19th-century cult garb. Wow.chador

I mean, part of me wants to buy one. I already have an Islamic chador my friend got me from a market in the UAE and a beautifully embroidered Indian wedding sari I used as window drapery. I suppose I could start a collection of religious garb, but that would be creepy. Still, the idea of wearing one of these FLDS dresses for Halloween is almost irresistible. However, no dreams of once again taking first prize in the costume contest will convince me to place an order (last year, I took home the gold by dressing up as Chris Farley in the Lunch-Lady SNL sketch. I rocked it hard).

First of all, the smallest size they have is 8A. Now, I have no idea how freaky-cult 8A compares to the Real World size 8. Secondly, size 8A runs a cool $72.53. I don’t think if there is a god that it would want anyone to spend that kind of dough just to look chaste. Not with these gas prices. I mean, buy a sheet, cut a hole in the middle for your head and put a belt around it, for chrissakes.

Lastly, and most obvious, I take voting with the dollar seriously and will not support an intolerant, closed cult that practices sexual abuse and tax evasion (among many other crimes, I’m sure), refuses to educate the female members properly, is secretive and follows the late psychopath Joseph Smith. Not for any Halloween prize even if it’s really, really awesome.

UPDATE: 7.24.08 – Sen. Harry Reid calls polygamist sects organized crime organizations. “The lawless conduct of polygamous communities in the United States deserves national attention and federal action.” Finally, these cults are receiving the labels they deserve that will hopefully focus law enforcement attention more closely on the activities of these sects.

3 Responses to “Holy Shit – and I’m back”


  1. 1 Marc
    July 2, 2008 at 8:44 am

    married?
    Break your readers hearts.

  2. July 2, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    haha! really, it’s no loss. i’m actually quite unpleasant in person.

  3. July 3, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    hey meredith! congrats to you and brendan on the matrimonials – this is mike, of the world-renowned interracial mike & grace couple you met at kevin’s memorial day weekend new braunfels riverhouse bash.

    kevin passed me your url a while back, i’ve been catching up on the monthly archives. very funny and informative – i don’t figure myself to be particularly engrossed in the details of politics so i try to pick up perspectives from as many sources as possible; yours has been the most entertaining to read so far by a long shot.

    if you’re bored anytime go and check out my blog; i can’t promise that my posts are as analytical or insightful (unless you want a first-hand account of what it’s like to nearly crap your pants on a seemingly endless late-night drive home after playing hockey) but at the very least my nitpicking on FOX News’ ticker spelling/grammar mistakes might amuse you.

    http://www.thesobblog.blogspot.com

    keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,425 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

