06
Jun
08

Hall of Shame: S.C. Approves “I Believe” License Plates

I make no bones about my disappointment with the rise in religious fundamentalism in this country and how detrimental such developments are, mostly having to do with failed abortion-only policies, the rise of anti-intellectualism, the accepting of intolerant and unconstitutional bans on gay marriage, and the promotion of power of men like George W. Bush, Pat Robertson, John Hagee and the late Jerry Falwell. Though, the rise in fundamentalism likely portends its downfall as progress is an unstoppable force, a law in South Carolina took effect yesterday that expresses the deep inability for many Americans to reconcile the brainwashing of their childhood with the reason and common sense their adulthoods.

South Carolina now offers “I Believe” license plates at $4 to $6.

i believe license plates

Such a license plate is an example of a governmental endorsement of a religion and a shameful illustration of the domination of unfounded mythology on our society.

Ask yourself whether the South Carolina state legislature would support a license plate expressing support of Islam, Judaism, Atheism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Scientology or Wicca. Right.

The ACLU and American Jewish Congress are considering action over this huge legal disappointment in South Carolina (which, by the way, failed in Florida in April). Here at politicalmpressions (which is just me), we wholemindedly support their efforts to have this state-sponsored endorsement of Christianity revoked.

Had this happened in Texas, I myself would raise my voice to its greatest heights to help preserve the separation of church and state.

Silver Lining: Marcus Aurelius points out in his comment on Think Progress, “It’s nice to know who the morons are when you’re out driving.”

Here We Go: June 19, Americans United for Separation of Church and Stateasks a judge to stop the state from making the plates and rule that the law allowing them violates the First Amendment.” For more, read here. Aaaahh, I love the smell of progress and common sense.

5 Responses to “Hall of Shame: S.C. Approves “I Believe” License Plates”


  1. 1 croixian1
    June 6, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Having been a resident of S.C. many years ago for several years, I can understand this. S.C. is a deeply religious state. I don’t live there anymore. 🙂

    If I still did live there I would insist on a DARWIN license plate.

    At 41 years old, and raised Presbyterian and now an atheist, it shocks me to no end that so many still hold onto silly mystical beliefs that should have died out hundreds of years ago. In fact, it terrifies me.

    I’m sure this will eventually be overturned. Like you said, it promotes the Christian god, so the Islamic folks will want one too. Its like the prayer in school thing, you let one religion in, you have to let them all in.

  2. 2 smokediver
    June 9, 2008 at 6:56 am

    You people really have nothing better to do. You talk about Christians forcing their beliefs on others yet you wish to push your beliefs on others. Before I read your whining comments, I would have never even thought about getting one of these license plates. Thank you for opening my eyes and realizing that I now need to get one…. just for people like you.

    God Bless

  3. 3 Meredith
    June 9, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    You’re right. I really have nothing better to do than defend the Constitution, which says, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion.”

    And how is my not wanting state-sponsored religion pushing my beliefs on others? You make no sense. You should believe whatever you wish, but your beliefs do not belong in the government that represents all of us.

    Please, do get the license plate. It’ll be fun watching you give it back after the law is challenged.

    Sincerely,

    The Unbrainwashed

  4. January 1, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    These Televelgelists who tell you that your tithes are going to God or His works are liars. I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer, but with decades of these people fleecing their flock, giving back virtually nothing, and using God’s money for themselves is unbelieveable. Still, they thrive, many of their ‘fan’s’ are not stupid people either. Their lies are right out there for all the flock to see, yet they give and worship these idiots, like they are Jesus or the Lord God himself. What are they thinking?

  5. January 8, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    I absolutely agree. There’s no way these churches should get not-for-profit status. They are for profit businesses led my people who lead very unchristlike lives.

    pmp


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,683 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

