03
Jun
08

Touchdown! Barack Obama Named Democratic Nominee

Jeeeeeeez. Sigh. Phew.

I think the gloriousness in my emotion is more directed at the fact that Hillary lost than that Barack won, in all truth. Most of my blogs on this issue have focused on her lacking rather than his qualities. I’m sure she won’t go quietly into the night but at least I’m not having heart palpitations with the intruding thought that the presidential contest will be between Hillary and McFlipflop. It’s a good night with a sentiment that will pass quickly as the real mudwrestling begins.

That being said, Obama still has not earned my vote. Now that he has clenched the nomination, it’s time to read up on his books – my mom said she received a right-wing email today that included shockingly racist quotations from his books. I told her to forward it to me so I can check it out, but I’m not holding my breath.

Another consideration upon which I now must focus is how strident Republican support and participation is this election and if it’s cemented that Texas will go red in November. Everyone I know says something different and I don’t even want to hope that TX can change gears. Remember, high gas prices are a GOOD thing here.

So, my preliminary thoughts are: if it’s close here in TX, I’ll vote Obama. If it’s not, I’ll vote Nader – which will really be a vote in support of the multi-party system. Only time will tell and with a primary season so cattywampus, who the hell knows what’s going to happen in the general?!

Used paperback copies of The Audacity of Hope are only $7.89 on Amazon right now. Score.

2 Responses to “Touchdown! Barack Obama Named Democratic Nominee”


  1. 1 Marc
    June 4, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Meredith,
    I wouldn’t mind having a copy of that e-mail myself, to check the points, if you feel like sharing.

    Also, watch the video of Hildog at the Aipac conference this morning, she looks the most exhausted I have ever seen her. What do you think that means?

  2. 2 Meredith
    June 4, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    i’m going to ask my mom again to send the email to me. how do you get on one of those crazazy right-wing email lists anyway? i see them on politifact.com, but have never seen one. they’re like sasquatch to me at this point.

    and i saw her aipac speech and was also surprised by her appearance. could she actually have cried over her loss last night?? i know she got choked up after new hampshire, but to produce real tears for real?! The liquid kind?! dude did NOT look like a lady. dude looked more like a dejected, no-sleep, former candidate for president. i’m not dancing on her grave, but the champagne is uncorked, no doubt.


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,683 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

