07
May
08

What A Great Primary Night!

Did you stay up? I stayed up! It was difficult, though, and I was really battling in those last few moments before Obama was unable to squeeze out twenty-some-odd-thousand votes he needed from Gary to clinch the Indiana primary.

But, I have to say, Indiana and North Carolina gave us a show and BRAVO. The whole evening was like a big present to all of us junkies who have been growing discouraged with increasing anxiety as the Democratic Primary grew uglier and nastier. Every minute, watching those Indiana numbers (which started out: Clinton 61%, Obama 39%) get smaller and smaller and smaller, was juicy and gratifying. It was clear voters chose not to reward Clinton for jumping on the Wrightwagon and feeding them some baloney about a mythical gas tax holiday. It was the first primary night in a while I ended without sighing, “Oh well.”

Did anyone see Bill standing behind Hillary during her speech (which was so long and boring and fake, I repeatedly zoned out – and, no, it was because I was a few beers into a sixpack at that point)? It’s obvious he didn’t wear sunscreen during his North Carolina Front Porch Tour and looked like a big tomato during his wife’s “I’m a loser and I know it” speech. It just pains me to think about how Obama will have to approach our narcissistic former president for his valuable support leading up to the general election. Obama’s going to be all conciliatory and humble. I’m glad it won’t be televised. I’d probably throw up a little in my mouth.

The best part about last night’s results, for me, is that even if you allowed Hillary her hypocritical moment in the sun and counted Michigan and Florida, she’d still be a few pantsuits shy of a victory. And that, to me, people, is pure gold. Icing.

Now I must get another cup of coffee.

2 Responses to “What A Great Primary Night!”


  1. 1 halninethousand
    May 10, 2008 at 11:57 am

    I believe Obama himself has a Narcissistic Personality Disorder. These are the DSM-IV criteria for Narcissistic Personality Disorder (five or more listed below in order to make the diagnosis): 1. Has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements); 2. Is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love; 3. Believes that he of she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions); 4. Requires excessive admiration; 5. Has a sense of entitlement , i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations; 6. Is interpersonally exploitative, ie., takes advantage; 7. Lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with feelings and needs of others; 8. Is often envious of others or believes that others are envious of him or her; 9. Shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes

    While most (if not all) politicians exhibit some or many of these characteristics to one degree or another, one has to meet at least five of these criteria for the diagnosis. I’ll let people decide for themselves about Obama. In my humble but professional opinion (clinical psychologist), my observations confirm to me that he clearly meets five and most likely more of the above criteria. I have never given a diagnostic opinion for anyone without evaluating them personally, so I am reluctant to make this decision. However, as a psychologist may be employed as an expert profiler, this is my firm diagnostic impression. I’m interested in what others may think, keeping in mind their training and experience.

  2. 2 Meredith
    May 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Wow, I must say that the characteristics you list fit Hillary Clinton to a tee. I disagree that many of them apply to Obama, most likely because I’ve read his biography. As a clinical psychologist, I would imagine you understand the importance of research before diagnosis and am curious as to how well-researched you are in the area of Barack Obama. Have you read any of the biographies written about the man? Undoubtedly, he has issues, but Narcissistic Personality Disorder? I’d reserve that title for John McCain, George W. Bush, Both Clintons, Pat Buchanan, Jesse Ventura, maybe even Ralph Nader. If it does apply to Obama, which I doubt seriously, I would think it applies only very slightly.


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,683 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

