20
Feb
08

Wretched, Awful Interview by Matthews of Obama Surrogate Kirk Watson

Last night, in what was one of the most gut-twisting moments for me as an Obama-leaner, Chris Matthews demanded TX State Senator Kirk Watson name some legislative achievements of Obama. He could not.

You can watch the clip here. I recommend it.

It was awful. I was watching it in real time. It was like watching that guy on Silence of the Lambs tell that crying girl to put lotion on her skin. Yeesh.

Perhaps I was a bit more sensitive because I voted for Watson in elections past and for him to only be prepared to talk about inspiration and hope without knowledge of Obama’s resume was just paaiiinfuulllll to observe. You could see the moment Matthews smelled blood and tore into Watson like a lioness grasping the neck of a water buffalo who doesn’t know it’s over. Hillary’s surrogate Ohio Rep. Stephanie Tubbs Jones tried to get in on the action as well and was loving every humiliating second like the hyena waiting in the wings for scraps.

I turned the TV off immediately. Maybe I’ll watch some snuff videos to toughen myself up.

Update: Kirk Watson posted a response to the incident on his website yesterday. Among other things, including a list of Obama’s accomplishments, the state senator had this to say, “And my mind went blank. I expected to be asked about the primary that night, or the big one coming up in Texas on March 4, or just about anything else in the news. When the subject changed so emphatically, I reached for information that millions of my fellow Obama supporters could recite by heart, and I couldn’t summon it.”

Maybe he couldn’t summon it because it wasn’t there? Poor guy. Better luck next time.

1 Response to “Wretched, Awful Interview by Matthews of Obama Surrogate Kirk Watson”


  1. 1 jposty
    February 20, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Wait… Obama has enough of a resume to warrant knowledge about it?

    -James
    http://www.freedompress.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Scarlet Letter of Atheism

a

Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Blog Stats

  • 95,129 hits
WordPress Political Blogger

Top Clicks

  • None

